Board of Trustees

Thetford Academy, an independent school with a public mission, is governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees. The Thetford Academy Board of Trustees consists of no more than twenty-one members, including an Alumni Representative designated by the Thetford Academy Alumni Association (TAAA), and three Town Representatives from our partnership towns of Thetford and Strafford, Vermont, and Lyme, New Hampshire.

The Board of Trustees is a self-electing board, with most trustees serving one or more four-year terms. The Alumni Representative and Town Representatives (nominated by the partner towns) are elected for one year terms.

Board members are expected to:

  • Have a strong interest in the welfare of Thetford Academy and become informed about its mission, policies, organizational structure, services, and finances.
  • Support the mission and policies of Thetford Academy in interactions with the public and the members, and contribute to the best of their abilities financially and through their expertise, time, and services.
  • Attend Board meetings.
  • Serve on at least one Trustee Committee and develop in-depth knowledge of the areas of responsibility of that committee.

Board meetings are held in the Thetford Academy library. All meetings are open to the public; meeting dates are posted on the Thetford Academy calendar on the TA Today page of the website. To contact a Thetford Academy trustee, please email

Thetford Academy Strategic Plan
Thetford Academy Board Policies
Thetford Academy Charter


Ann Bumpus – President
Lindsey Klecan
Hanover, NH
Giovanni Bosco – Vice President
Thetford Center
Jeff Solsaa – Strafford Representative
Melody Burkins
East Thetford
Donna Steinberg
Shannon Darrah – Thetford Representative
East Thetford
Carrie Wells
Thetford Center
Karl Furstenberg – Lyme Representative
Lyme, NH
Ben Williams
Thetford Center
Kate Hesser
East Thetford
John Ziegler
Hartland, VT
Robin Junker-Boyce