Driver Education provides basic driving instruction through classroom study and behind-the-wheel learning. Students will learn about everyday operation of a car; different driving environments, situations, and attitudes; defensive driving; natural laws and car control; dangers of alcohol and other drugs while driving; dangers of cell phone use while driving; and pollution and environmental concerns of driving.
Vermont’s licensing requires 30 hours of classroom and six hours of behind-the-wheel training. Every student enrolled must be at least 15 years of age and hold a valid Vermont permit to drive. New Hampshire students must reach their 16th birthday on or before the last day of the Driver Education course, and must complete 10 hours of behind-the-wheel training to qualify for licensing. New Hampshire students must also obtain a Vermont Learners’ Permit in order to enroll in Driver Education at Thetford Academy.
Space in Driver Education courses is limited; Thetford Academy cannot guarantee course enrollment to all students who may be interested or eligible. Course entrance is determined as follows:
- Students must have their permits by the start of the course;
- Older students are accepted first.
Driver Education is a pass/fail course; to pass, a student must earn an 80% or higher in their coursework. The Driver Education grade will not be included in a student’s GPA. Students who do not pass may retake the course pending course availability.
Driver Education Faculty
Driver Education Courses